Procrastination

Edit: Well one more thing I’ve learned about the WordPress app is that it doesn’t always publish things that you ask it to. I didn’t check this on the computer until just now, at 12:07 am, but I’m still counting this as a post from yesterday. I know, no one cares.

Just yesterday I was pleased with myself for making it one whole week posting something every day. Well if you look at the time stamps on those posts, most of them were done between 10:00 pm and midnight.

I’ve been at home pretty much all day today. I’m not sick, it’s just that every month I have to take one unpaid day off, a furlough day required by employees of the State of California to save the state money. Thankfully I get to choose the date, and I chose today because of the United States vs. Bosnia-Herzegovenia soccer match (which was awesome) that was on at 11:30 a.m.

The only times I left the apartment were 1) to buy beer, and 2) to do laundry. Despite that, I waited until 11:20 pm to start writing this. That laundry had been put off until I was out of underwear. My point is, I procrastinate way too much.

I’d like to think that this extends beyond just individual tasks and applies more to my entire life. At least, that’s what I’m telling myself as I think about why I’m at the point I am in my life and career and all that good stuff.

On a more positive note, I’m using the WordPress app for my android phone, using Android’s built-in speech-to-text aka voice recognition feature to write mostof this post and it works surprisingly well. the only downside, it is that there’s no punctuation or capitalization, so you end up having to go back in and everything. However, I just discovered that if you actually say the word “comma” or “period” or other punctuation mark word out loud, the voice recognition software registers that and will put it in your text for you.

I’m still figuring out capitalization and line breaks, but I am definitely going to start using this feature more!

About vietjew

I'm a comedian and software engineer based in California. I eat a lot of burritos. That's about it. View all posts by vietjew

Leave a comment